JEE Mains - 2020

Joint Entrance Examination – Main or commonly known as JEE Main is a national level entrance exam conducted by the NTA to offer admission to BE/BTech, BPlan and BArch courses at the IIITs (Indian Institute of Information Technology), NITs (National Institute of Technology) and other Centrally Funded Technical Institutions (CFTIs) across the country.

JEE Main 2020 Eligibility Criteria

NTA has released the JEE Main 2020 eligibility criteria for BTech, BArch and BPlan papers. Candidates must fulfil all the eligibility conditions to be eligible for JEE Main exam. The eligibility criteria for JEE Main 2020 is as follows:

1. Age Criteria: There is no age limit for aspirants appearing in the JEE Main

2. Year of Appearance in Qualifying Examination (QE)
  • Candidates who have passed their Class 12 examination or any equivalent qualifying examination in 2018 or 2019 are eligible
  • Those who are appearing in their Class 12 examination or any equivalent qualifying examination in 2020 are also eligible to appear in January and April session
  • Candidates who passed Class 12th/Qualifying examination in 2017 or before as well as those who will appear in such examination in 2021 or later are not eligible to appear in JEE (Main)–2020.

3. Qualifying subjects: Candidates must have taken at least five subjects in class 12th /qualifying examination to be eligible

4. Qualifying marks
  • To appear in JEE Mains, the minimum qualifying marks (for admission to NITs, IIITs, IITs, and CFTIs) that aspirants require is 75 per cent (aggregate) or
  • Candidates should be in the top 20 percentile in the Class 12 exam conducted by respective Boards
  • For reserved candidates, the minimum qualifying marks is 65 per cent

5. Total attempts
  • A candidate is allowed to attempt the exam for three consecutive years
  • The number of attempts will be six in total – twice each year for three years

JEE Main 2020 Syllabus

NTA has published JEE Main 2020 syllabus for Paper 1, 2 and 3 in online mode on the official website. This year, the authority has separated BPlan from BArch. The syllabus will help candidates to plan their studies accordingly.

Before starting with preparations, candidates must know the detailed syllabus. Going through the JEE Main syllabus, students will know topics of every subject that are important from JEE Main point of view.

JEE Main 2020 Exam Pattern and Structure

Mode of exam

BTech/BPlan – CBT mode

BArch – PBTmode | CBT mode

Type of questions

Objective (MCQs) and Numerical

Subjective – BArch Drawing Paper

Number of questions

75 for BTech

77 for BArch

100 for BPlan

Total marks

Paper 1 – 300 marks

Paper 2 – 400 marks

Paper 3 – 400 marks


3 Hours

Name of sections

BTech – 3 (Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics)
BArch – 3 (Drawing, Mathematics, and Aptitude)
BPlan – 3 (Mathematics, Aptitude, and Planning)

Marking scheme

Correct Response – (+4)

Incorrect Response – (-1)

The difficulty level of exam

Easy to Moderate

JEE (Advanced) - 2020

Only the top 2.5 lakh score holders in JEE Mains 2020 will be eligible to apply for JEE Advanced for admission to various undergraduate engineering programs offered by IITs in India. The counselling cum seat allotment for all the IITs, NITs, IIITs and CFTIs will be organised and managed by the Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JOSAA). In 2019, 107 institutes participated in JOSAA Counselling.

JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria 2020

I – Performance in JEE Main 2020

Candidates who fall among the top 2,50,000 rankers in JEE Main 2020 across all categories are eligible to appear for JEE Advanced. Out of this number, the percentage of candidates eligible for admissions under different categories are as follows:
  • General category candidates (from the common merit list) – 46.5%
  • General EWS – 4%
  • OBC-NCL candidates – 27%
  • SC candidates – 15%
  • ST candidates – 7.5%
  • PWD candidates – Horizontal reservation of 5% in all the above categories

II – Age limit
  • General or OBC-NCL category candidates born on or after October 1, 1995, can apply for the exam.
  • However, the age limit for SC, ST or PwD category candidates has been relaxed. SC, ST or PwD candidates born on or after October 1, 1990, will be eligible for the exam.

III – Number of attempts
  • A candidate can attempt JEE Advanced for a maximum of two times in two consecutive years.

IV – Appearance in Class 12 (or equivalent) examination
  • Candidates can appear for this engineering entrance exam if they have appeared for their Class 12 or equivalent exam for the first time in 2019 or 2020.

JEE Advanced 2019 Cutoff (Qualifying)

General Category